The Association for Science Education

ASE Chair

The Chair is a vital role to our Association and the elected chair provides an authoritative voice for the thousands of members ASE supports and the wider science education community.

ASE Chair 2017/18: Linda Needham CSciTeach

Linda in currently an Independent Education Consultant who has formerly worked at a Regional Science Advisor. She is a long serving member of the Yorkshire Region, a member of the Education Group and a regular host on #ASEchat. 

About Linda

"I’m a biologist at heart; my teaching roles are too numerous to list fully, but I’ve taught in 11-16, 11-18 and middle schools and a VI Form College, as well as with beginning teachers in training. Teaching for about 20 years, then onwards to Local Authority work, science adviser and school improvement resulted in a 3-year stint with the National Strategy national team, working mainly in the North West of England, but developing material that went into all those folders that are now either in landfill or gathering dust on a very large shelf, with successive Secretaries of State determining how resources are favoured, or not. I now run my own consultancy business and focus mainly on developing science teachers so that they can support others more effectively."

Read Linda's full story in Education in Science

ASE Past Chair 2016/17: Chris Colclough CSciTeachChris Colclough

Chris is an Academic Tutor at the University of Sunderland. With a teaching career spanning 40 years Chris has been involved with the ASE Education Group, Chair of the 11-19 Committee and Chair of the North East Region. Chris continues to supports ASE by camapigning for advice and support for teachers, including access to the latest in science pedagogy and access to professional development opportunities. 

ASE Chair Elect 2018/19: Mary Whitehouse CSciTeach

We are pleased to announce that Mary Whitehouse CSciTeach has been elected Chair of the Association.  

Mary Whitehouse is a physics teacher with experience in school and in university. She is a fellow of the Institute for Physics and the most recent recipient of the prestigious Lawrence Bragg Medal, recognising her national contribution to teaching and learning in physics. After teaching in both schools and college she is now a leading member of the University of York Science Education Group (UYSEG); her research interest is the role of assessment in teaching and learning. Alongside work as a curriculum developer, she teaches the physics content of the University’s initial teacher-training course. She is a member of the ASE the Yorkshire and the Humber Regional Committee and Chair of the International Group of the ASE.

You can follow Mary on twitter @MaryUYSEG

Mary will take up the role of chair on 1 August 2018

About ASE's Chair TrioElected candidates remain part of the chair trio for three consecutive years. The roles are assumed from the 1st August each year. Find out more about the role of ASE's Chair.