The Association for Science Education
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. News
  4. Member Elections - Vote for the next Chair of the Association

Member Elections - Vote for the next Chair of the Association

13 June 2016

The Chair is a vital role of the Association and the candidate is an elected representative for the thousands of members ASE supports and the wider science education community. 

For the 2016-17 Election we are pleased to announce two candidates - Sally Spicer CSciTeach and Linda Needham CSciTeach. The successful candidate will take up the role of Chair-Elect on 1 August 2016 and their year as Chair will begin of 1 August 2017.

Members are now invited to view the personal statements of the nominated candidates and vote online for their chosen candidate with a valid membership number. 

At the same time you will be asked to submit your two nominations for the Quality and Audit Committee.

How to vote:

Voting has now closed.

Simply select the candidate you wish to vote for and click 'submit my vote'  at the bottom of the page. Your membership number will be verified to ensure your vote is valid.

Chair of the Association Election

Nominee Information:

Click below to read the further statements from nominees.

Sally Spicer 


Sally Spicer CSciTeach

Read Sally's full personal statement (members only)

Linda Needham CSciTeach

Read Linda's full personal statement (members only)

Quality and Audit Committee Election

The Quality and Audit Committee's role is to monitor the Trustee Body’s management of the Association’s resources and to report accordingly to the members in a General Meeting. In this way, we can be assured that ASE is a quality organisation operating in the best interests of its members and in accordance with its charitable objectives.

Nominee information:

Click below to read the further statements from nominees. When you submit your vote you are requested to select two candidates.

Wilson Agnew

Read personal statement (members only)

Peter Borrows

Read personal statement (members only)

Sue Flanagan

Read personal statement (members only)

Alan Rhodes

Read personal statement (members only)

Please note that voting will close on 30 June. The results of the membership chair election will be announced in mid-July 2016.