The Association for Science Education
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. News
  4. Elections: Nomination for the Chair of ASE 2018

Elections: Nomination for the Chair of ASE 2018

26 April 2017

Following the call for nominations for Chair of the Association, we are pleased to announce that Chartered Science Teacher and a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, Mary Whitehouse, has been nominated for the role. 

Mary Whitehouse is a physics teacher with experience in school and in university. After teaching in both schools and college she is now a leading member of the University of York Science Education Group (UYSEG); her research interest is the role of assessment in teaching and learning. Alongside work as a curriculum developer, she teaches the physics content of the University’s initial teacher-training course. She is a member of the ASE the Yorkshire and the Humber Regional Committee and Chair of the International Group of the ASE. 

About your member vote

Nominations have now closed

The nomination of Chair will be confirmed at the next meeting of the Board of Trustees in July following a confirmation vote as per the rules of the Association. Members can say whether they accept or decline the nomination of this candidate (login required). 

Please send any comments or enquiries to

About the ASE's Chair Trio

Elected candidates remain part of the chair trio for three consecutive years. The roles are assumed from the 1st August each year.

  • Chris Colclough is the current Chair for 2016-17
  • Corrine Stevenson is our Immediate past chair 2015-16
  • Linda Needham will assume the role of Chair 2017-18 on the 1 August 2017

Find out more about the role of ASE's Chair.