ASE receives record-breaking number of CSciTeach applications

Since the award’s first iteration in 2006, the Association for Science Education has awarded over 320 science educators with the Chartered Science Teacher mark, taking the chartered mark from strength to strength, and this year is no exception. 

Even with the unforeseen impact of COVID-19 on science educators across the world, our recent June deadline saw a record-breaking number of applicants, totalling 23 hopeful recipients of CSciTeach. As our team have been working hard behind the scenes to process this influx of applications, we commend the applicants for the incredible quality of their applications.

What is CSciTeach?

Chartered Science Teacher (CSciTeach) is a chartered mark which recognises excellence in science teaching and learning and demonstrates a commitment to your profession which can help career advancement.

The Association for Science Education, as a licensed body of the Science Council, is empowered under the terms of its Royal Charter to award CSciTeach to individuals who meet the application requirements. CSciTeach applicants must be active in science teaching and learning in the UK or overseas; this includes teachers in all state and independent schools, colleges and universities, as well as advisers, inspectors, consultants and researchers.

If you would like to find out more about CSciTeach and its benefits, click here. Our next round of applications are open until 5th November 2020.

"We're delighted at the high number and quality of professional registration applications that we've received this year, across Chartered Science Teacher, Registered Scientist and Registered Science Technician. Professional registration provides independent recognition of your skills and competence as a professional as well as a valuable framework to support your continuing professional development and recognition as part of a worldwide community of science educators and scientists. Congratulations to all of this year's new registrants."
Hannah Russell, CEO