Acknowledgements - Why you'll never catch smallpox

These resources have been developed and produced by the Association for Science Education in partnership with James Films, with support from the Wellcome Trust.

The project team: Marianne Cutler, Helen Harden and Liz Lawrence (ASE); with Terhi Kylliäinen and Felix Levinson (James Films). We worked with 26 primary schools to pilot the resources: 

  1. Four schools in the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham and three schools in Northamptonshire and Warwickshire, through their involvement in the Primary Science Quality Mark (PSQM)
  2. Four schools in the locality of the Dr Jenner’s House museum, Gloucestershire
  3. Fifteen schools recruited through ASE and PSQM in various parts of England.

With particular thanks to the following teachers, their pupils and school leadership for their enthusiastic participation in the pilot phase of these resources:

  • Fiona Cosgrove, Berkeley Primary School, Gloucestershire
  • Nell Buckley, Silverhill School, Gloucestershire
  • Alison Crockford, Woodford Halse C.E. Primary Academy, Northamptonshire
  • Lucy Hartwright and Becky Ellis, St Margaret’s C.E. Junior School, Warwickshire
  • Amanda Poole, Shrubland Street Primary School, Warwickshire
  • Raj Dharma, Daubeney Primary School, London Borough of Hackney
  • Devrani Moopanar, Five Elms Primary School, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
  • Pheonia Farrell, Northbury Primary School, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
  • Lauren Butler, St. Patrick’s Catholic Primary School, London Borough of Havering
  • Louise Simmons & Joanne Moore, Vittoria Primary School, London Borough of Islington

With thanks to our scientific advisors: Professor Gareth Williams and Richard Vis