In addition to the ASE Trustees and Education Group, ASE has several dedicated committees and specialist groups. Their expertise and experience forms part of ASE’s voice.

You could also be part of setting the agenda for ASE’s activity in providing professional learning across science education.

How to get involved

One of the major advantages of membership of ASE is the opportunity to share your expertise with your colleagues. Getting involved with an ASE committee will challenge your strategic thinking and put you at the heart of steering ASE’s direction into the future. ASE calls for nominations every year to elect members to become involved in our governance structure either as a Trustee, part of our Education Group or on our national committees. Members are also asked to vote for their Chair of the Association. 

Our committees and groups meet 3 times a year either virutally or face to face. 

If you can lend your experience, then please feel free to get in touch

You can apply to become a member of an ASE Committee or Specialist Group Member here: 

If you are unable to complete the online form above, please contact for a copy of the word document version



Science Education 11-19 Committee

Chair: Wendy Pearmain

This Committee advises and supports teachers of science in secondary schools and colleges on all aspects of the science curriculum, including assessment.


Primary Science Education Committee

Co Chairs: Angharad Pass & Helen Spring CSciTeach

This Committee is a dynamic and creative group at the cutting edge of primary science, which seeks to promote best practice in the teaching of science in primary schools.


Science Laboratory Technicians Committee

Chair: Jane Oldham RSciTech

This Committee co-ordinates the Association’s activities for its technician members. As well as providing advice and support to technicians.


International Group

Co-Chairs: Marc Neesam and Natasha Serret

This group co-ordinates the international links of the Association in a variety of ways, including organising the International Programme at the Annual Conference.


Futures Group

Chair: Co-Chair Claire Seeley, Co-Chair Emily Perry

This expert group provides support and voice for Initial Teacher Education and Continuing professional development, fostering high quality professional learning for future generations of science teachers at all levels of education. You can find more information about this group on the Teacher Educator Support page. 


Quality and Audit Committee

Chair: Nicky Souter

The Quality and Audit Committee (Q&A) was established to ensure that the Association operates to the benefit of the members.  In short, it is the members’ voice within ASE. 


Research Committee

Chair: Alastair Gittner CSciTeach

This group provides expertise in science education research to inform ASE policy and action, particularly in encouraging a research-based approach to teaching.

Publications Committee

Chair: David Allen 

This group is committed to raising the profile of ASE and promoting and supporting membership through its books. Its members make the publishing decisions required to fulfil the responsibility for these resources.  For example, it considers proposals from potential authors. An individual group member acts as a link with the author during the preparation of a book. Working together with the ASE publishing staff and within a policy framework, such links ensure that each publication comes up to the high standards of ASE.

Education Group

Chair: Helen Harden CSciTeach

The Education Group gives advice to The Trustee Body on all aspects of science education. It has representation from all sectors of the science education community, in order to bring expertise to that debate and to formulate actions to take forward the strategic objectives.

Health and Safety Group

Chair:  Ralph Whitcher

This is an 'expert group' committee that gives advice to members on all matters relating to health and safety in science education. The Group is an authority in the fi eld of best safe practice in practical school science, respected nationally and internationally.