In addition to the ASE Trustees and Education Group, ASE has several dedicated committees and specialist groups. Their expertise and experience forms part of ASE’s voice.

You could also be part of setting the agenda for ASE’s activity in providing professional learning across science education.

How to get involved

One of the major advantages of membership of ASE is the opportunity to share your expertise with your colleagues. Getting involved with an ASE committee will challenge your strategic thinking and put you at the heart of steering ASE’s direction into the future. ASE calls for nominations every year to elect members to become involved in our governance structure either as a Trustee, part of our Education Group or on our national committees. Members are also asked to vote for their Chair of the Association. 

If you can lend your experience, then please get in touch. Our committees and groups meet 3 times a year either virutally or face to face. 



Science Education 11-19 Committee

This Committee advises and supports teachers of science in secondary schools and colleges on all aspects of the science curriculum, including assessment.

Chair: Helen Harden CSciTeach

Primary Science Education Committee

This Committee is a dynamic and creative group at the cutting edge of primary science, which seeks to promote best practice in the teaching of science in primary schools.

Chair: Naomi Hiscock CSciTeach

Science Laboratory Technicians Committee

This Committee co-ordinates the Association’s activities for its technician members. As well as providing advice and support to technicians.

Chair: Ann Bullen RSciTech

Specialist Groups

Research in Science Specialist Group

The group supports members with experience of research in science education, it's members contribute to or lead group projects. 

Chair: Jane McNichol

Publications Specialist Group

This group makes the publishing decisions on behalf of ASE within a policy framework, ensuring that every publication is of the highest standard. This group gives classroom practictioners the opportunity to get involved with educational publishing. The ASE Book of the Year Award is curated by this group.

Chair: James Williams CSciTeach

Health and Safety Specialist Group

The Group is an authority in the field of best safe practice in practical school science, and it is respected nationally and internationally. Members need to have worked in school or college science for at least three years.

Chair: Ralph Whitcher

International Group

This group co-ordinates the international links of the Association in a variety of ways, including organising the International Programme at the Annual Conference.

Chair: Dr Chris Harrison

Futures Group

This expert group provides support and voice for Initial Teacher Education and Continuing professional development, fostering high quality professional learning for future generations of science teachers at all levels of education.

Chairs: Liz Lawrence CSciTeach

Quality and Audit Committee

The Quality and Audit Committee (Q&A) was established to ensure that the Association operates to the benefit of the members.  In short, it is the members’ voice within ASE. 

Chair: Dr Dennis Sutton